+ Reply to Thread
Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 13

Thread: anyone use an aimpoint/eotech on their g3 clone?

  1. #1
    Desperately Needs Treatment
    majette's Avatar
    Join Date : Feb 2007
    Location : Norfolk, VA
    Posts : 1,019

    Default anyone use an aimpoint/eotech on their g3 clone?

    mainly interested in how well it works, especially with a magnifier. if so, at what distance do you have it sighted in?
    --------------------------
    "Guns....Lots of guns."
    -Neo, The Matrix
    --------------------------

    "Glocks, and Exeter Sigs are what you show your friends. HK's, German Sigs, and 1911's are what you show your enemies."

  2. #2
    mew
    mew is offline
    Gets the Shakes if No HK Contact in 24 Hour Period
    mew's Avatar
    Join Date : Aug 2005
    Location : South Florida
    Posts : 933

    Default

    I used one (aimpoint ML2-4moa dot) on my HK with a BT 21262 mount. worked great and sighted at 100yds it was awsome. used the A3 stock on it. I wouldn't hesitate to go with either for CQB.
    "All that is necessary for the triumph of evil is for good men to do nothing"
    Edmund Burke

  3. #3
    Desperately Needs Treatment
    Las_Vegas_HK's Avatar
    Join Date : Nov 2004
    Posts : 1,619

    Default

    I have a 'AA' battery Eotech on my G3 and it works great. The rifles shoots what it was intented to be use as, a battle rifle, 100-300 yard man-sized targets.

    I save my magnified scope for my bolt rifles.

    You will be happy with either an Aimpoint or an Eotech red dot
    The HK Family: HK51, HK53 and MP5(Dad, Mom and Jr.)

  4. #4
    Very Senior Member
    HKGuitarfingers1's Avatar
    Join Date : Mar 2008
    Location : Northern Michigan
    Age : 52
    Posts : 204

    Default

    I have used the Eotech on my HK91, it worked great.
    The only problem is that with the B&T rail I was using there was not enough room to also mount a magnifier.



  5. #5
    Gets the Shakes if No HK Contact in 24 Hour Period
    darthvictor's Avatar
    Join Date : Feb 2007
    Posts : 694

    Default

    I've got mine set up like this:



    It is the N battery version and I can advise anyone who is curious NOT to get it, the batteries just don't last. If I take it out for a day of hunting or a weekend at the range, I gotta change the batteries. There is room behind the sight for a magnifier, I just haven't gotten one yet. I can also see the irons through the base of the mount. The sight is a little high but it is actually pretty comfortable up there once you get used to it. I figure you should have your head up if you're using a dot anyways.

    ETA: It is zeroed @ 100 yds.
    Last edited by darthvictor; 03-09-2010 at 11:59 AM. Reason: Left out some requested info.
    History is not happenstance, it is conspiratorial: carefully planned and executed by people in power.

  6. #6
    Desperately Needs Treatment
    majette's Avatar
    Join Date : Feb 2007
    Location : Norfolk, VA
    Posts : 1,019

    Default

    thanks, thats the feedback i need. i have a clone claw mount, will it cause the sight to sit too high?

  7. #7
    Unrepentant HKHolic
    jeray's Avatar
    Join Date : Oct 2003
    Location : Kentucky, US
    Posts : 4,320

    Default

    As you can see from this pic of a aimpoint-type optic on a Claw Mount, it will sit it up rather high, but in my opinion, it's still not too high for my tastes, but an Eotech on a claw would be a little too high for me.

    Yeah man, I tell ya what, man, them dang olí HKs, man, talkin' bout SUH-WEET, man, dang ol' point and click, baby, just, just, dang ol' awesome, man.

  8. #8
    Desperately Needs Treatment
    tcr39's Avatar
    Join Date : Feb 2009
    Location : the hills
    Posts : 1,963

    Default

    whats more important? Irons you can count on at 1,2,&300trds OR a non-magnified scope that can get knocked off zero so easily? answer is a 4x24 z-24 hendsoldt scope that was desingned to use irons and stay PUT at zeroe,and rugged also. I love mine it does what it was intended for. M.O.

  9. #9
    Gets the Shakes if No HK Contact in 24 Hour Period
    darthvictor's Avatar
    Join Date : Feb 2007
    Posts : 694

    Default

    I can say that I have had my EoTech off of the weapon a few times and I've never had to re-zero it. As I said, the reflex is my head-up sight and when I need to take a long shot with a lot of time to do so I can still hunker down on the irons without taking off the dot. The system I have works for me the way I use it and since he asked questions specifically about a setup like mine, I gave him my pros and cons. The answer for you is a Z24, but that is not what he asked about.

    To answer the height question, my mount is the same height as the Hensoldt claws and I do not find it to be too high, YMMV.

  10. #10
    Desperately Needs Treatment
    majette's Avatar
    Join Date : Feb 2007
    Location : Norfolk, VA
    Posts : 1,019

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by tcr39 View Post
    whats more important? Irons you can count on at 1,2,&300trds OR a non-magnified scope that can get knocked off zero so easily? answer is a 4x24 z-24 hendsoldt scope that was desingned to use irons and stay PUT at zeroe,and rugged also. I love mine it does what it was intended for. M.O.
    i considered a z-24 but i think for me a heads up sight will work better. i doubt i would have many 300m shots, even if i used the rifle for hunting. i am sure the aimpoints and eotechs are rugged and they afford the ability to use accessories like the magnifier and night vision.

+ Reply to Thread
Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast

Links

 

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts

Search tags for this page

eotech hk91
,
eotech on hk91
,
g3 aimpoint
,
g3 eotech
,
g3 with eotech
,
hk 91
,
hk 91 eotech
,
hk 91 red dot
,

hk91

,
hk91 eotech
,
hk91 rail
,
hk91 with eotech
Click on a term to search for related topics.