HKPRO Forums banner

MP5 Build Questions (Pressing Barrel, Pinning Barrel, Front Sight Tower)

13K views 12 replies 8 participants last post by  Extremevx 
#1 ·
Hey, so I just got done with rolling my LSC MP5 flat complete with the weldment set, cocking tube, paddle release and trunnion. I used an original new HK trunnion and have a new RCM Navy barrel. I have the rest of the parts to finish my build, I just have a few questions regarding pressing in the barrel, pinning it and installing the front sight tower.

I know that the headspacing needs to be between .010 and .018, but the MP5 manual is not so specific regarding the pinning of the barrel. I am fairly new to drilling and welding, but I definitely take my time to ensure that I am doing it properly. I have a drill press and TIG welder in my shop. I am seeing mixed answers on previous forum threads regarding these questions:

1. Do I need to press in my barrel at around .010 - .018 and then pin the barrel or do I leave some extra room and then pin?
2. Which drill bit do I need to drill the new barrel with? I see a few members saying you need a #9 carbide, and others saying 3/16". I also have the barrel pin jig kit I got from hkparts if that helps.
3. Regarding the front sight tower, I have the RCM one and need to know what's the right way of installing it? Do I just hammer it down and then align it with the rear sight? The barrel has ridges on it but I am not sure if they hold the front sight in place or are just there for looks. I see some saying I need to epoxy the front sight tower but I am not sure if that's the right way of doing it. I am not looking to put the sling mount on the tower, but if that is required then I guess I'll need help with that as well.

Any help would be much appreciated! Will post photos once complete, building it into a pistol.

See less See more
#11 ·