+ Reply to Thread
Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast

Thread: P2000sk- Questions/Recommendations for someone new to HK

Question P2000sk- Questions/Recommendations for someone new to HK

I'm applying for my FL CCW and I am in the market for a CCW semiauto. I have narrowed it down to the HK P2000sk, Glock 23 & 27. I prefer .40SW, so I am not looking for suggestions on this round vs. that round. I currently only own a Glock 22, but I have had a G30 in the past which was a bit too thick for my tastes, and again, I would like to stick with one caliber throughout my collection. I have owned nothing but Glocks to this point, but I have been interested in HK for some time now and have done some searches on this great forum, but I have a few questions, especially as I have no experience with HK, so I thought the membership would be the best place to start.

I certainly don't want to turn this into a Glock vs. HK discussion. I believe that Glocks are wonderful guns, but I know that its hard to argue the sheer quality of an HK. I have held the USPc, P2000, P2000sk and it seems as though in terms of size, that the P2000sk is truly the best package for concealability, but I certainly don't have the experience, so any suggestions are welcome.

I guess my questions are two fold:

1) What should I expect in terms of similarities, differences when owning an HK vs. my Glock (field stripping, cleaning and lubing, etc).

2) Suggestions as to reliable carry ammo for a less than 4" barrel (my Glock 22 ammo is Ranger 165g R40TA for the home)

I really am looking forward to my first HK purchase, but I'm just looking to gain some knowledge as to what to expect coming from another OEM.

Thanks for all the help!

Unrepentant HKHolic

Don't worry, I'm a Glock and HK guy too so your not going to hear any needless anti-Glock comments coming from me. I also am not going to berrate your choice of caliber. However I am going to give you an honest assement of both pistols in comparison to one another.