+ Reply to Thread

Thread: Rifle Warped Stock Fore end--can be changed/used?

Very Senior Member

Default Rifle Warped Stock Fore end--can be changed/used?

In the "heads up" area was posted an HK 300 22-WMR used stock. Per Numrich's description:

The stock forend appears to be warped downward about ¼” and barrel channel is marked “verzogen”. Stock may need repair and had been in storage with wear. But overall is in good condition. Sold As-Is.

"Verzogen" (German for "spoiled.") It might be usable/functional as is, or maybe can be reasonably easily modified/manipulated??? I don't know, I've never worked with wood or stocks before. It does look better than the stock I have on 1 of my 300's, I know that for sure.

I assume that if the barrel could be seated into it and bolted into place, then it wouldn't matter, right?, the wood would conform (bend) for a minor warping (is 1/4" at the end of the stock fore end "minor"?) without cracking, and surely it wouldn't bend the barrel or affect rifle functioning/accuracy??? So this is maybe just a factory cast-off, a good "second" with a defect that maybe just doesn't matter to a non-perfectionist?

What do you guys with experience and knowledge with rifles, rebuilding, gunsmithing, and woodworking, have to say to enlighten me, if you would please?

Don't be gentle, be honest but helpful.

Thanks.

JBubba57@aol.com

Gets the Shakes if No HK Contact in 24 Hour Period

HK300's from the factory have a floated bbl.
    This replacement stock probably isnt going to qualify for that.
    If you cant get the right clearance between the stock channel and the bbl, as the bbl heats up during firing, your accuracy will go to hell and you will be all over the paper.
    Thats not to say that a skilled stock worker cant get the stock corrected, but there is only one way to find out, and that is buy it and send it out to someone who does this type of work.
    Mark

Very Senior Member