+ Reply to Thread
Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast

Thread: Adding red dot scope to my umarex mp5 SD 22

Default Adding red dot scope to my umarex mp5 SD 22

I'm new to scopes/red dots, so bare with me. I bought this mp5 rail mount, it says airsoft only but hopefully 22LR is fine. So then I went with the Bushnell Trophy TRS25... it seems to be popular and affordable red dot scope. Anyways, my problem is this... I think either the rail mount is isn't "low" enough or the scope is not low enough, because I can't see through the rear sight and be able to see through the scope too. I have to adjust the red dot really low which makes the inner lens part inside the scope move way high (and looks weird) to be able to see the red dot aligned with the front sight. I feel like I'm missing something here. I shouldn't have to adjust the height of the red dot so much I wouldn't think. My only guess is the rail mount is too high to be able to have true co-witness... but even then, if I don't use the rear sight how can I get it to work with just the scope and front sight? I would of preferred true co-witness but I'd probably have to get another rail mount that is lower. Thanks for the help!

PROFESSIONAL WEB SURFER

I think it was suggested in the other thread to buy the Classic Army rail. I have the CA rail + Primary Arms Micro Dot and it co-witnesses perfectly with the iron sights.
    When you zero the sight, you line up the rear with the front sight, through the red dot. If the tip of the front sight hits where you aim it, then I would adjust the height of the red dot to float right at the tip of the front sight.
    HK: Yeah, I've got that!

Banned

i don't think red dots on mp5 work that way. Correct me if i'm wrong but you have to adjust the red dot to be on target and just place the dot on a target and shoot. you don't have to line up the red dot with the iron sights. I had a mp5sd 22 cal and the mp5 40cal with 2 different red dots and both work the same way.