Removing piston rod from a g36c clone
Results 1 to 6 of 6

Thread: Removing piston rod from a g36c clone

  1. #1
    Junior Member

    Join Date : Dec 2008
    Posts : 19
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)

    Default Removing piston rod from a g36c clone

    I was playing around with a new to me g36c clone. From what I saw, it was not possible to remove the piston rod, and therefore the gas piston since the rod was so short. I could not push it far enough rearward to clear the cup on the piston so it could come out to the side.

    Does this seem right? Are there any cleaning tricks for this?

    Thanks.

  2. #2
    Desperately Needs Treatment
    Javier's Avatar
    Join Date : Apr 2006
    Posts : 1,832
    Mentioned
    10 Post(s)

    Default

    There you are!

    Quote Originally Posted by Liquidous View Post
    The bolt carrier has to be locked back, or it will hold the op rod in place.
    Last edited by Javier; 12-22-2009 at 03:35 AM.

  3. #3
    Desperately Needs Treatment
    Liquidous's Avatar
    Join Date : Dec 2006
    Location : Oklahoma
    Age : 35
    Posts : 1,089
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)

    Default

    The bolt carrier has to be locked back, or it will hold the op rod in place.

  4. Remove Advertisements
    HKPro.com
    Advertisements
     

  5. #4
    Desperately Needs Treatment
    Javier's Avatar
    Join Date : Apr 2006
    Posts : 1,832
    Mentioned
    10 Post(s)

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by Liquidous View Post
    The bolt carrier has to be locked back, or it will hold the op rod in place.
    Very good! I forgot about that! You are a great G36 armorer!

  6. #5
    Junior Member

    Join Date : Dec 2008
    Posts : 19
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)

    Default

    D'oh, ok I feel kind of silly, should have figured that out...

    Thanks for the info!

  7. #6
    Junior Member

    Join Date : Jun 2020
    Posts : 1
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)

    Default

    Sorry to necro... but I'm not sure I should make a brand new thread.

    HK newbie here, bought a T36KER from Tom about a month ago. I've had some success in fully field stripping it, but for whatever reason the piston rod is INCREDIBLY hard to remove. I'm not sure if it's because of the spring + rod length (KER variant) or because I'm doing something wrong. I'd ask Tom directly but I feel like I bugged him enough already, so I thought I'd try here first.

    In my situation, the bolt carrier is completely removed (the piston rod would be the last thing I strip), but it's still incredibly hard to push down. I've seen field strip videos where the person removes it with ease, so I figure something's not right with the way I'm doing it. Thanks!

    EDIT: I contacted Tom for my inquiry since no responses were added here. Thanks anyways
    Last edited by BassaForte; 06-07-2020 at 03:09 AM.

Sponsored Links

 
 

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  

Search tags for this page

g36 gas piston for g36 c - how long
,
g36 gas piston removal
,
g36 gas piston rod
,

g36 rod

,

g36c clone

,

g36c op rod

,
g36c piston and rod
,
how to remove operating rod g36
,
operating rod
,
remove op rod sl8
,
remove operating rod sl8
,
removing g36 gas piston rod
Click on a term to search for related topics.