New CETME owner
Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast
Like Tree9Likes

Thread: New CETME owner

Mentioned
    0 Post(s)

Default New CETME owner

Hey y'all, I'm a new owner of a CETME/G3 type rifle and also a new member of this forum. I have some questions, and would love any general words of wisdom.

The rifle I bought is a Century C308 with wood furniture. I know Century is frowned upon, but I'm a tightwad college student. I wanted .308 for shooting deer and hogs, and I am deeply in love with all things HK but can't afford a real HK91. So far I've put over 200 rounds through it with no issues, unless the crappy trigger counts.

Yes, the trigger... It is horrendous. I don't think I have ever shot anything with longer creep. It just keeps going for what seems like half an inch. That's my first question. What should I do? There seem to be a lot of options. I've heard of sending the trigger group off to get worked on, I've seen complete trigger packs for sale, and I've seen flat machined triggers. Words of advice? I'd rather not spend several hundred, but I'll do what it takes to end up with something decent. I am sort of a trigger snob.

Also, I'd like an ambidextrous safety. I'm left handed. Are there any cheap ones available? (only one I've seen was over $70). And can I install one of those myself without screwing anything up, or should I have whoever does my trigger work put it in? I've had the gun apart to clean several times, but I haven't messed with the trigger group.

Finally, any recommendations on flash hiders and muzzle brakes? The brake Century has on there is atrocious. The concussion is completely insane even for a .308 in my opinion, and there is a huge flash. I'm thinking I either want a 3-prong flash hider like a JP or LMT, or some sort of linear compensator. Thoughts? I'm not too worried about recoil, if that matters. Blinding myself with flash and blowing the hat off my buddy next to me are worse than a little more recoil.

Mentioned
    0 Post(s)

Hi Dallben!