Supressing PTR 9ct
Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast

Thread: Supressing PTR 9ct

Mentioned
    0 Post(s)

Default Supressing PTR 9ct

Hi,

I'm interested in the PTR 9ct (full size). I've seen a Youtube video of someone who had many problems with the gun, especially supressed. The rollers caused bulges in the metal and tore up the buffer. When he called PTR, he was told the gun needed a different locking piece to run suppressed.

Is this a known issue with the HK MP5 and its clones? If I purchased the pistol, I would probably run it suppressed 80% of the time. Is it difficult to change out the locking piece? Would the gun still cycle without a suppressor? Is this disscussed in the PTR user manuel?

Sorry for the questions, I'm new to roller locked guns.

thanks.

Mentioned
    0 Post(s)

You do need to change the locking piece to run suppressed. It is very easy to do. I changed to a #17 for my HK-91 and it works great when suppressed. Do an internet search, there are lots of posts on this subject.

Very Senior Member

Mentioned
    2 Post(s)

Quote Originally Posted by HK91A2 View Post
    You do need to change the locking piece to run suppressed. It is very easy to do. I changed to a #17 for my HK-91 and it works great when suppressed. Do an internet search, there are lots of posts on this subject.
    the mp5 doesn't need a different locking piece to run suppressed, some do it if they only run with a can and heavy bullets. The K models does need the locking piece.
    Is this a known issue with the HK MP5 and its clones? If I purchased the pistol, I would probably run it suppressed 80% of the time. Is it difficult to change out the locking piece? Would the gun still cycle without a suppressor? Is this disscussed in the PTR user manuel?
    just the k models, btw a new locking piece may or may not fit the ptr bolt if you think you need it. PTR will replace it if you call them.

eta

check the bolt gap if you replace it, tolerances between ptr, rcm, hk do stack