SP5K and Cleaning
Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast

Thread: SP5K and Cleaning

Very Senior Member
    Mentioned
    1 Post(s)

Default SP5K and Cleaning

Was going to ask this question in Barth's thread about breaking in the SP5K with hot ammo, but looks like the thread got closed. So...

Laugh all you want at this question (I am new to the roller-lock world as the arrival of my SP5K in July will be my first), but will the gun run 500 rounds without cleaning? Reason I ask is I just built an AR platform 9mm thats direct blowback and running it suppressed, it was so dirty after 300 rounds that the bolt was locking up and it took me an hour to clean it. I'm assuming/hoping the MP5/SP5K doesn't have the same problem. Thanks!
    "Greater love has no one than this: to lay down one's life for one's friends." -John 15:13

Unrepentant HKHolic

Mentioned
    14 Post(s)

I don't laugh at any questions. Don't know the answer but interested. But mistly wanted to say congrats and I'm jealous!!

HKPRO PREMIUM PARTNER
    Location : North of one border South of another East and West of the others
    Mentioned
    4 Post(s)

There is much talk about proper break ins. If you consider an iron skillet that is new and then how to heat it, oil it, heat it, oil it until it is properly seasoned, you end up with an item, properly seasoned that will remain good for ages. The steel of the barrel and parts are similar. Some suggest swabbing oil after the first x number of shots and good cleanings after each trip to the range.
    Running anything suppressed will get your arm dirtier much faster. Running suppressed when first breaking in any arm is questionable due to the increased pressures and heat.