Picking up new VP9, what to look for
Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast

Thread: Picking up new VP9, what to look for

Mentioned
    0 Post(s)

Default Picking up new VP9, what to look for

So I ordered a VP9 from grabagun, and I just got a call from the local pawnshop I had it transferred to letting me know that they have it ready for me to pick up. I can't wait, but I also know that I'm fairly new to firearms, and I don't know what to look for when I pick it up. I've read a bunch of places to really inspect the handgun before taking possession of it, but again, I don't really know what to look for.

Any suggestions?

Mentioned
    0 Post(s)

I will be picking up mine today or tomorrow. It has night sights, so I will check the tubes. I will clear then disassemble and look at slide, rails, trigger assembly, etc. I am not an armorer so I will just look for anything unusual. I will reassemble and work the action and trigger to look for proper operation. Page 10 of the manual describes operation. Rack slide, check trigger pull and hold trigger back. Rack slide and check reset. If FFL has snap cap I will check feed and ejection. Any other suggestions from the forum?

Gets the Shakes if No HK Contact in 24 Hour Period

Mentioned
    2 Post(s)

Striker gun, pretty much rack and pull the trigger. Buy HK brand new and even the finish is pristine, easy to spot something unusual.
    SN in 4 places, case-label/frame/barrel/slide. Lock slide and peek down barrel, check mags for marks/wear – that the gun is new. Spare side-panels/backstraps are all accounted for.
    Ask first, but don’t be surprised if the store won’t allow you to field strip it (you don’t ‘own’ it yet). Besides, it’s brand new (I don’t even bother bringing my snap caps).

4. Remove Advertisements
    HKPro.com
    Advertisements

Unrepentant HKHolic
    Mentioned
    9 Post(s)