P2000 .40 Opinions?
Page 1 of 3 1 2 3 LastLast
Like Tree6Likes

Thread: P2000 .40 Opinions?

Mentioned
    0 Post(s)

Hi everyone,

I bought a HK P2000 .40 S&W last month. This is my first firearm and have been to the range four times and took a firearms class today. The instructor told me that the .40 is the hottest round and I’d be better off with a handgun such as the Glock 19 that shoots 9mm.

I’m still a beginner and I feel that there is a slight difference in recoil compared to the Glock 19 that I shot today. The Glock 19 had less muzzle flip and I was able to make follow up shots more easily. I noticed that the muzzle flip on the P2000 seemed to be a bit more snappier but much more manageable once I corrected my stance and grip. I also have a TLR-1 on my P2000. I bought a Glock 30sf last week as well.

I have a few questions:
    - How do you feel about the recoil with a .40 on H&K handguns?
    - Would there be an advantage with going with a VP9 or a Glock 19 over the P2000? Would either of these guns be an upgrade?
    - Can you train to be as good with a .40 compared to 9mm?
    -I have two handguns. The instructor said I should either have two striker fired or two hammer fired to help with muscle memory. I definitely enjoy shooting and want to go to the range often. Is this a good reason to sell either the p2000 or g30sf and get a 9mm?
    Last edited by HK280z; 06-14-2020 at 01:53 AM.

Descending into HKoholism
    Mentioned
    6 Post(s)

.40S&W is higher pressure, higher velocity round, which inevitably makes it snappier.
    9mm is easier for a beginner, that is true. I have some experience, and I love shooting all three calibers mentioned here - 9mm, .40S&W, and .45ACP.

The HKs handle .40 quite well, but the full-size USP or P30L, due to their mass, tame the recoil better. P2000 is smaller, so relative to the bigger brothers, it flips more.