G36C Questions
Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast

Thread: G36C Questions

Mentioned
    0 Post(s)

Default G36C Questions

Folks
    i am a newbie here in this formum. but i am reading since a long time your posts.
    now i am since half a year a hk g36k owner ( very proud of). but i like very much the g36c version. now i was able to buy almost all parts to convert it. but i have to shorten the barrel. now my question:
    somebody knows the original gas port size (dia.) which i have to drill? and may also the excact location (that means where measured from the top and end of the barrel). i can drill it only once.

Thanks for your help!
    Adrian

H&K Certified Armorer
    Mentioned
    11 Post(s)

Quote Originally Posted by hkg36c View Post
    Folks
    i am a newbie here in this formum. but i am reading since a long time your posts.
    now i am since half a year a hk g36k owner ( very proud of). but i like very much the g36c version. now i was able to buy almost all parts to convert it. but i have to shorten the barrel. now my question:
    somebody knows the original gas port size (dia.) which i have to drill? and may also the excact location (that means where measured from the top and end of the barrel). i can drill it only once.

Thanks for your help!
    Adrian
    Is your K barrel a factory K barrel?

If so, you may not be able to move the gas block back. Although I have not taken exact measurements, from doing SL8 barrel conversion I suspect you may run into the following issues...

1) Early K barrels with the "round" gas block style... the ID of the block is more than likely just slightly larger than the OD of the barrel. If so, I would VERY strongly not recommend sleeving it.

2) Later K barrels with the "block" gas block style... the ID of the block is too small so the muzzle end OD will be too small for proper FH friction, although you can develop an alternate menthod to lock the FH in place.