PSG1 newbie here: What should I be aware of?
Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast
Like Tree4Likes

Thread: PSG1 newbie here: What should I be aware of?

Mentioned
    0 Post(s)

Default PSG1 newbie here: What should I be aware of?

I finally got my ultimate bucket list gun: a PSG1.

Unfortunately, it's not a NIB one - despite a very steep price. I acquired it in Austria from a gun store. The store got 4 PSG1 from a german law enforcement auction. I was told this wasnt a public auction, just for selected stores. I was not told anymore details.

I've seen and checked all 4 rifles before choosing mine. All are well used and certainly look issued. All the cases are heavily scratched, which is a sign, that they got hurled around. 2 rifles had a D number in the 900 range, the other two in the 1200 range. I picked one of the 900s.

The date code on the receiver is IH (1987), as well as on the 5 and one 20 round magazine. The second 20 round magazine is an IG (1986). All 4 rifles had 2 20 round and one 5 round magazine, sling, tool set, the tripod, some improvised cleaning cable, case keys. The front scope cover of all rifles was ripped off. No manuals.

Mine has an improvised insert for 10 .308 bullets. the case is marked for an officer that has the initials F.M. The tripod is also marked "MAT."

One 20 round magazine, the 5 round magazine, the knob of the palm rest and the sling swivel on the stock had a slight rust film, that I cleaned away with gun oil. The overall condition of the receiver is surprisingly good. the biggest wear in the finish is on the forward assist. The same wear was on the other 3 rifles as well.

There are some minor scratches on the barrel, some big ones on the tripod. The finish of the scope has the most damages. There also were some slight rests of glue - maybe from a ballistic table? The reticle of the scope is still sharp. The battery of the Hensoldt scope is empty. There are use marks on the UIT rail of the handguard.