HK 416 14.5 and 16" barrel gas port sizes
Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 12
Like Tree5Likes

Thread: HK 416 14.5 and 16" barrel gas port sizes

  1. #1
    Very Senior Member

    Join Date : Apr 2014
    Location : US
    Posts : 210
    Mentioned
    2 Post(s)

    Default HK 416 14.5 and 16" barrel gas port sizes

    I thought I had this saved somewhere but now can't find it. Is the correct gas port for 14.5 and 16" HK 416 using vented gas block 1.6mm? And the Vent on the gas block is 1.4mm?

    Just looking for clarification.

  2. #2
    Very Senior Member
    InshallahTech's Avatar
    Join Date : Aug 2013
    Location : WA
    Posts : 397
    Mentioned
    16 Post(s)

    Default

    Use the order form and ask for a 1.4mm port on 14.5 or 16" barrel.

    The 1.6mm port is specifically used on a 10.4 barrel using a vented 10.4 gas block.

    There is no gas block appropriate for use on a 14.5 or 16" barrel with a 1.6mm gas port as that barrel simply doesn't exist in official HK parlance.
    veritas, aksog and Horse like this.

  3. #3
    HKPRO PREMIUM PARTNER
    veritas's Avatar
    Join Date : Nov 2006
    Location : Central New Hampshire
    Posts : 2,577
    Mentioned
    14 Post(s)

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by InshallahTech View Post
    Use the order form and ask for a 1.4mm port on 14.5 or 16" barrel.

    The 1.6mm port is specifically used on a 10.4 barrel using a vented 10.4 gas block.

    There is no gas block appropriate for use on a 14.5 or 16" barrel with a 1.6mm gas port as that barrel simply doesn't exist in official HK parlance.
    Very helpful, I appreciate it and will use this spec on mine.


    Sent from my iPad using Tapatalk
    "The problem with socialism is eventually you run out of other people's money" ~ Margaret Thatcher
    NRA Endowment - Life
    GOA Life Member

  4. Remove Advertisements
    HKPro.com
    Advertisements
     

  5. #4
    Very Senior Member

    Join Date : Apr 2014
    Location : US
    Posts : 210
    Mentioned
    2 Post(s)

    Default

    @inshallatech Thanks! I just replied to your PM but you answered it here.

    They will be drilling a vent in a gas block for me too..is the spec vent in gas block for the 14.5 and 16" barrels a 1.5mm vent?
    InshallahTech likes this.

  6. #5
    Desperately Needs Treatment
    dms16's Avatar
    Join Date : Jun 2015
    Posts : 1,934
    Mentioned
    63 Post(s)

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by alan98 View Post
    @inshallatech Thanks! I just replied to your PM but you answered it here.

    They will be drilling a vent in a gas block for me too..is the spec vent in gas block for the 14.5 and 16" barrels a 1.5mm vent?
    Most are. M27 and maybe some others are 1.7mm vent.
    InshallahTech likes this.

  7. #6
    HKPRO PREMIUM PARTNER
    veritas's Avatar
    Join Date : Nov 2006
    Location : Central New Hampshire
    Posts : 2,577
    Mentioned
    14 Post(s)

    Default

    Guys, I need some help. I just took out my two recently built 416 uppers using the Nefarious barrels. The 10.4" worked like a charm suppressed and not. The 14.5" consistently failed to cycle. The first round went bang, but that was it -- not enough pressure to eject. The barrel has a 1.4mm port and an adjustable (Norwegian) block. On "U" and "S" it filed to cycle. With a suppressor (Surefire SOCOM) it cycled fine regardless of setting. Ammo was 55 grain PPU. Any insight on what my issue might be? I thought 1.4mm was the right spec for 14.5" barrels, but it appears to be under-gassed. Much appreciate any input you may have.

  8. #7
    Junior Member

    Join Date : Apr 2019
    Posts : 16
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by veritas View Post
    Guys, I need some help. I just took out my two recently built 416 uppers using the Nefarious barrels. The 10.4" worked like a charm suppressed and not. The 14.5" consistently failed to cycle. The first round went bang, but that was it -- not enough pressure to eject. The barrel has a 1.4mm port and an adjustable (Norwegian) block. On "U" and "S" it filed to cycle. With a suppressor (Surefire SOCOM) it cycled fine regardless of setting. Ammo was 55 grain PPU. Any insight on what my issue might be? I thought 1.4mm was the right spec for 14.5" barrels, but it appears to be under-gassed. Much appreciate any input you may have.
    Possibly alignment of the gas block?

  9. #8
    HKPRO PREMIUM PARTNER
    veritas's Avatar
    Join Date : Nov 2006
    Location : Central New Hampshire
    Posts : 2,577
    Mentioned
    14 Post(s)

    Default

    Good hypothesis, but I hope not as it is indexed correctly.


    Sent from my iPad using Tapatalk

  10. #9
    Junior Member

    Join Date : Apr 2019
    Posts : 16
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)

    Default

    How short does it come from cycling the whole action? Is it possible to drop the buffer weight slightly then? Unless you wanna run calipers by all the ports and check the block for obstructions. Only so much that can go wrong with a 416 system really

  11. #10
    Desperately Needs Treatment
    dms16's Avatar
    Join Date : Jun 2015
    Posts : 1,934
    Mentioned
    63 Post(s)

    Default

    @veritas ,

    Have you emailed Nefarious about this? Marvin and Beth may take a day or 2 but they've always been reachable and easy to work with.



    Blind diagnosis is that you're probably running just under the margin of operability/cycling and the can added is giving it enough back-pressure to help it cycle.

    No idea what the nature of PPU ammo but cheap Euro stuff generally runs 9mm hot and .223 cold. Could be the ammo...could be some unintended gas leak/bleed...could be a technical problem with the gas block, port dimensions, etc. Just as likely it may be multiple issues stacking together.

    I'd be curious about ejection pattern when suppressed as well as if you can hold the gun out like a pistol (the rifle equivalent of limp-wristing) and have it cycle suppressed. I'd also be curious to know what a full-blooded M855 or M193 would do in place of the PPU.

    Reducing the buffer weight (assuming you're following OEM buffer/spring) would be my last resort. More often than not it's manipulation is a bandaid attempting to fix other problems in the DI world when guys don't know what they're doing. Far better to find/fix the problem than catering to it.

Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast

Sponsored Links

 
 

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •