Central Iowa IDPA - Ames Izaak Walton League - Sunday Oct 9th.

Thread: Central Iowa IDPA - Ames Izaak Walton League - Sunday Oct 9th.

Very Senior Member
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)

Default Central Iowa IDPA - Ames Izaak Walton League - Sunday Oct 9th.

This Sunday is the monthly IDPA match down at the Ames Izaak Walton League. Match fee is $10 for a single gun $5 for an additional gun.

Shooting starts around 9am, be there a little early for sign in / safety brief.

I'm not affiliated with that particular club , just passin' the word along.

I shot there last month the it was a good group, not too high of a round count and the stages were OK. A pretty good environment for those looking to get into the sport.

Mentioned
    0 Post(s)

Hey, I know this is an old post but I wanted to reply because I am an Ames resident and member of the Izaak Walton League club.
    I shoot there about once a week and always looking for new people to converse with.

So what type of matches are these?
    Veritas Aequitas

Very Senior Member
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)

Quote Originally Posted by caehrnst View Post
    Hey, I know this is an old post but I wanted to reply because I am an Ames resident and member of the Izaak Walton League club.
    I shoot there about once a week and always looking for new people to converse with.

So what type of matches are these?

First and foremost, IDPA is a game.

But it's a game that tries to emulate "real world" scenarios and skills.

You typically use a cover garment, as you would when carrying concealed.

Your average stage or single string of fire is no more than 18 rounds.

There's typically 3-6 targets that need to be engaged etc.

In Ames, there's typically 3-5 stages.

Most of the info about IDPA can be read here:

International Defensive Pistol Association - What is IDPA?

What is IDPA?