Terrible target...
Page 1 of 3 1 2 3 LastLast
Like Tree8Likes

Thread: Terrible target...

HKPRO Professional
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)

Default Terrible target...

Well, I went and shot my new VP9 and the target was, how can I put it, terrible....

Little background, I've been shooting for about 15 years, almost exclusively Glocks with a 1911 thrown in there. I've been in law enforcement for just under 5 years, and have been practicing/shooting the state qualifications without issue for over 6. I have probably close to 15k rounds through my two Glock 17s both with night sights.

I have never even come close to failing a state qualification which includes some give-me shots at 3 yards, some more give-me shots at 5 yards, couple shots from 7 yards, shooting from behind barriers at 15 yards, and then 4 shots from 25 yards.

If I had shot that same qualification today with the VP9 I very well may have failed.

Gun feels fantastic in my hand, I had a good grip, felt like my sight alignment was good, so I'm at a loss. I should have taken photos of the target, because it was really confusing. From 10 yards I was putting 5 rounds into a 2" circle, then I would wing one about 6" high, next one was 4" low and to the right, then I'd put the next one dead center with my first great grouping. I know I'm not limp wristing it, don't feel like I'm anticipating my shots/breaking wrist up/down, I really think it's related to the sights/my sight alignment.

Is there anything I should know about shooting an HK vs other pistols? Or, perhaps, I just had a very, very off day of shooting.
    Overconfidence erodes vigilance.

HKPRO PREMIUM PARTNER
    Mentioned
    9 Post(s)

Send it back and get a USP, Kidding. Sorry to hear that. Maybe try from a bench rest and see if you are getting the same results. Could just be new gun jitters or a bad lockup on the barrel?

Mentioned
    0 Post(s)