HKPRO Forums banner

1 - 13 of 13 Posts

·
Registered
52 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
OK, this is sure to be the first of many (hopefully not annoying questions) about HK MGs. I am NOT new to the class 3 world; I have a few Colt M16s, Vector UZI, Ruger AC556 and a sweet Norrell 10/22 trigger pack.

But I am new to the HK transferable MG world. I've already figured out I probably want a Fleming or Qualified sear for the quality of the material and heat treatment. I also probably want a gun that is already built, because I don't want to wait a year or two on top of BATFE paperwork to get a gun.

I will eventually plan to do an MP5, MP5K, HK53 and maybe even an HK51 for giggles. But I need to start with a 9mm. At my local range, I can run it suppressed (thinking Gemtech Raptor). And with the M16s, I can already have 5.5 and 6.8SPC fun.

My question is should I start out with an MP5 or an MP5K? I understand quality of the conversion is paramount - but assuming a top quality build for either gun, does a K gun function as reliable as a full size?? This is important to me, because I hate MGs that jam. OK, with the Norrell, you have to settle for some jams.

Sorry for the long post - but again, does a K run as good as a full size MP5?? Any other considerations or things to think about??

Input is greatly appreciated!

·
Registered
1,016 Posts
If you get a quality build to put the sear in they should both run equally as good.It would simply be a choice of which you want.You cant go wrong either way.

·
Registered
17 Posts
As rext said, it boils down to whatever you want. I started with the MP5K-PDW with a Fleming sear because of the pure cool factor of the more compact gun. Then I had Ralph at RDTS build one of my 94's into an MP5 SD-SBR. I just move the trigger pack between the guns. I also picked up a V53-SBR to move the trigger pack to also. The MP5K functions flawlessly. You can't go wrong either way.

·
Premium Member
1,047 Posts