HKPRO Forums banner

1 - 7 of 7 Posts

·
Registered
7 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
My PD will be ordering two 416's the first of the year. One major question is 10.5" or 14.5" barrel. I am trying to push for the 10.5", but how accurate is it. I know this has ALOT to do with who is behind the trigger. Between the two barrel lenghts, is there going to be any huge difference at around 200-250 yards? We are also looking at the Eotech 512, which I can not see helping out any at 250 yards.

Thanks everyone!

·
Registered
70 Posts
As a police officer I have to ask, in what situation do you see yourself firing at suspects at over 200 yards with a 10.5" barreled entry/patrol gun with a dot sight? It can be done, but if this is what you expect to encounter, you need more gun. We have a doorway sized steel plate set up at 200 yards that I can quickly and easily hit with mulpiple rounds using even a standard iron sighted AK47 variant, but this type of shooting is not the name of the game in law enforcement.

·
Registered
276 Posts
Both barrel lengths are equally accurate.

All else equal, the 14.5" barrel will be more lethal as it increases velocity to a point where bullets will fragment/expand.

10.5" barrels are sub-par on the expansion/fragmentation aspect due to low muzzle velocities.

My basis for all of this is simple varmint hunting with both 10.5" and 14.5"+ barrels. I've fed everything from 45gr to 75gr (FMJ, HPs, BP, etc.) through 10.5" guns, their effectiveness pales in comparison to a 14.5"+ barrel on everything I've shot (rabbits, jackrabbits, coyotes, prairie dogs, porcupines).

·
Registered
62 Posts
boomfab is right on regarding accuracy and fragmentation.
Both barrel lengths will be roughly as accurate as each other, the problem is that the shorter barrel will not be as effective at putting down a threat at extended distances due to loss of velocity.