HKPRO Forums banner
1 - 14 of 14 Posts

·
Registered
81 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I am looking to add a 3 lug barrel to my sp5k. I am going to pick up a can for it and thought about swapping the barrel myself. I've been a machinist for 20 some years and have all the tools to do the work including an 80 ton press. I know how to use a feeler gauge and all that.

Would this barrel work in the sp5k?

https://www.hkparts.net/shop/pc/MP5K-N-9mm-PDW-Threaded-Barrel-1-2-X-32-152p16968.htm

Do I reuse the trunnion or purchase a new one with it.

Are there any references out there showing how to fully strip the gun?

Will I need anything other than the barrel?

Thanks

·
Registered
8,464 Posts
Ok, so I'm a little bit wowed that you are going to try your first barrel swap on your SP5k, but it's your gun (and money). Some people might be surprised you are going to attempt this, while asking about the trunion, but that's them.

I can't answer all of your questions, but here goes (and I'm sure someone will correct me if I'm wrong or incomplete). You want to remove the lateral barrel pin that goes through the receiver/trunion. Failure to do so would be bad. Press out the barrel. Press in the new barrel from HK Parts. RIM or B&T, different options regarding quality/cost. Replace barrel pin. Likely you will have to drill a new channel for the pin. I would highly recommend that channel be the correct diameter, and if not, HK Parts sells over sized barrel pins. You will want to make sure headspace is correct. If you aren't sure how to go about correcting for head space, that's a whole different post. Good luck, oh, and don't forget about the front "triple tree."

·
Registered
81 Posts
Discussion Starter · #3 ·
Ok, so I'm a little bit wowed that you are going to try your first barrel swap on your SP5k, but it's your gun (and money). Some people might be surprised you are going to attempt this, while asking about the trunion, but that's them.