HKPRO Forums banner

1 - 14 of 14 Posts

·
Registered
28 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
What is the opinion of the guy's here about shooting steel cased ammo such as Wolf in the PTR 91 platform? I have heard that it is hard on the extractors. Any feedback is appreciated. Thanks

·
Registered
10,256 Posts
The answer to that question has been answered, oh... maybe several hundred times. It doesn't hurt anything. They may call it steel, but it's so soft it's good for nothing else. I've been using steel in my G-3, 51, 51K, and Garand since 1989. And steel 223 in my ARs, HK-33, 53, 53K, and Mini-14 for almost as long. My Thompsons love the lacquered steel 45acp and all the various 8mms I found for the Browning A-4 runs just fine.

I don't know who started the "steel ammo is crap" rumor, but it seems to have gone bacterial.

·
Registered
6,399 Posts
Steel cased ammo is dangerous to shoot in a G3 type gun. When you do, this little metal projectile comes flying out the end of the barrel at alarming speeds. So yeah, it can damage a lot more than just the gun.

You need to box it all up and send it to me. I'll properly dispose of it for you.

Now I gotta get back to drinking myself some malt liquor, with that special ingredient that makes young black men go crazy.

·
Registered
134 Posts
I've been using polymer-coated steel-cased ammo with no problems. I keep some around for those occasions where I won't be able to retrieve my brass.

·
Registered
2,844 Posts
Historically the fluted chambers were in part to balance the extraction force of brass and steel case. The brass extracted easier but flowed into the chamber flutes more ... thus something to balance between the two. Reference Full Circle Collector Grade Publications - Bookshelf #8 - Gun Books - Swedish Mausers, Swedish K98Ks, Great Remington 8, Enfield-SA80 Rifle, Autoloading Rifles