HKPRO Forums banner

1 - 19 of 19 Posts

·
Registered
6 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hello I had been researching HK G-3 builds for about three years now. I purchased parts about a year ago. Tried to proceed, had issues and got discouraged.
Now I am back at it and thoroughly discouraged. By the way I have completed a vz-58 build and five AK platform builds and pressed barrels into all of them with ease.
A few questions I have-
1- I cannot for the life of me find whether the bolt gap is stated in mm or imperial in from people's posts. People say "oh yeah shoot for .020 or .015 doesn't make a damn sense if its in or mm.
2- The bolt carrier moves up and down after locked affecting your gap measurement by a lot. So where is it supposed to sit? pressed down? Up? in line with the cocking tube? I cannot fit any sort of feeler gauge when the cocking tube is in line with the bolt carrier no matter how far the barrel is pressed in.
20161002_144733.jpg 20161002_144743.jpg

3- The bolt gap doesn't seem to change at all no matter how far the barrel has been pressed in. I have pressed in barrel back and forth 23 times unable to figure this out.

I am ready to toss my $1600 of parts in the trash. If I cant figure this out I'm going to buy a PTR and give what I have away including a $400 match grade barrel if anyone is interested.

·
Premium Member
2,460 Posts
1) The bolt gap spec is published in millimeters. People convert the numbers to inch because it's what they are familiar with and understand better. Pick one and stick with it.
2) The bolt carrier should not move up and down, it should be positively located by the receiver rails. Something is wrong.
3) The depth the barrel is pressed in has squat to do with the bolt gap. The trunnion is what determines the bolt gap for set up purposes and proper bolt gap can be obtained without a barrel even installed.

EDIT: #3 is very wrong, I have no excuses for the FUBAR. Leaving it so people know what's wrong and incorrect.

·
Registered