HKPRO Forums banner
1 - 15 of 15 Posts

·
Registered
2 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 · (Edited)
Hello. I am a total gun novice in every sense of the word. I have held unloaded handguns and rifles, I know the difference between a revolver and a pistol as well as the terms semi-automatic and automatic. I also understand single action, where the hammer must be manually cocked before the weapon can be fired and must be done so with every shot. However I must admit, I am becoming a little bit confused with the concepts of double action, double action only, and striker fire. Also, I guess I dont fully understand the LEM option found on the USP or as an option on the P2000. Basically, I have decided that it is time to purchase a handgun that will serve as a cc weapon and a home defense weapon. I want a semi-auto pistol in 9mm with a decent amount of ammo (between 13-19 rounds) I went to a local gun shop yesterday and handled a few different weapons, the Ruger SR9c, Glock 19, Springfield xD. As a side note, I told the salesman in the shop that I have little knowledge about guns but that I wanted to purchase one for cc/home defense, and when showing and explaining the features of the 3 various weapons I could easily tell that the guy "helping" me was acting like a real smart ass in discussing the pros and cons of each, is this typical of the buying experience all gun novices encounter when making their first firearm purchase? I didn't buy anything, as I really went in with the intention of just learning and browsing, but I dont think I would return to that same shop as the attitude of the salesman was not appropriate. So, when I do finally make my purchase, I am wondering if purchasing a handgun off of the internet is a good route, as the prices seem much much lower. If anyone has any comments on the best place to actually purchase a firearm from that would be awesome. I digress, though. Of the Ruger SR9c, Glock 19, and Springfield xD, I really liked the feel of the Ruger bu