HKPRO Forums banner

1 - 13 of 13 Posts

·
Registered
9 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I had taken my conceal cary class in NC then found out I was moving within two weeks. So I did not get the liscence (though the class was nice). Now I live in WA state and only have to register once im a resident (no new tests).

This is where my question pops up. Before this week I had decided that I would want to cary the P2000 (LEM) .40sw but I have come to realise I dont feel comfortable having a round in the chamber without a safety or decocker. I have also after reading much about balastics decided I would feel more comfortable with a .45 for defense so then my options are very limited. USP compact? Are there any other options for a concealable gun chambered in .45 HK or not?

Am I being too picky about the calliber?

·
Premium Member
8,625 Posts
I had taken my conceal cary class in NC then found out I was moving within two weeks. So I did not get the liscence (though the class was nice). Now I live in WA state and only have to register once im a resident (no new tests).

This is where my question pops up. Before this week I had decided that I would want to cary the P2000 (LEM) .40sw but I have come to realise I dont feel comfortable having a round in the chamber without a safety or decocker. I have also after reading much about balastics decided I would feel more comfortable with a .45 for defense so then my options are very limited. USP compact? Are there any other options for a concealable gun chambered in .45 HK or not?

Am I being too picky about the calliber?
Yes. This is another of those never-ending debates. Whether it's a .40 or a .45, if you shoot someone with either at the close ranges usually encountered in a home defense situation, you are going to inflict some serious pain. The recipient of two in the chest between the armpits and one in the head is not going to be asking "BTW, were those .40s or .45s?"