HKPRO Forums banner

1 - 10 of 10 Posts

·
Registered
731 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I'm looking at selling my BW5 to a very nice gentleman here on the board. As far as I can tell all I need to do really on my end is make a nice detailed bill of sale for both parties to sign, is this correct? It's been awhile since I've done this and I've never done it out of state before. The weapon IS legal to own/posess in both states though.

·
Registered
685 Posts
I always thought going out of state to do a FTF was a big NO NO.
If going out of state I think it best to involve an FFL.
Someone please correct me if I am mistaken.
thanks,

·
Premium Member
8,629 Posts
I always thought going out of state to do a FTF was a big NO NO.
If going out of state I think it best to involve an FFL.
Someone please correct me if I am mistaken.
thanks,
You are correct. It's part of the 1968 Gun Control Act, section 922 paragraph 5 titled "Unlawful Acts":

(5) for any person (other than a licensed importer, licensed manufacturer, licensed dealer, or licensed collector) to transfer, sell, trade, give, transport, or deliver any firearm to any person (other than a licensed importer, licensed manufacturer, licensed dealer, or licensed collector) who the transferor knows or has reasonable cause to believe does not reside in (or if the person is a corporation or other business entity, does not maintain a place of business in) the State in which the transferor resides; except that this paragraph shall not apply to (A) the transfer, transportation, or delivery of a firearm made to carry out a bequest of a firearm to, or an acquisition by intestate succession of a firearm by, a person who is permitted to acquire or possess a firearm under the laws of the State of his residence, and (B) the loan or rental of a firearm to any person for temporary use for lawful sporting purposes;