HKPRO Forums banner

1 - 16 of 16 Posts

·
Registered
2 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I'm relatively new to Tucson and was in need of a gunsmith to install a brand new set of Novak night sights ($152+) on my brand new HK USP45C. I asked the salesman at Diamondback (Tucson @ Kolb) if they had a qualified gunsmith that could install a set of sights and he responded that the resident gunsmith was a perfectionist.

I waited impatiently while the work was being done. When the gun was returned to me, the "gunsmith", in his attempt to do a quick and dirty job, had taken too much of the bottom of the rear dovetail and when he screwed down the sight he forced the sight up in the dovetail. The sight now sits above the slide and light is visable below the sight.

The salesman claims that the installation was done properly and showed me guns that were also done improperly. And of course this is just so much XXX . I will not purchase anything from this store-ever and will try to inform the public so that do not have this frustration. I'll now have to buy new sights and spend another $152+. A very expensive lesson.

I recommed that you be very careful of those that make claims of their abilities and can't perform even a simple task like fitting a sight into a dovetail.

·
Registered
20 Posts
A drive down Scottsdale Gun Club might work for you. I know it's a bit far but you can make a day trip out of it and shoot the gun while your there. Just a thought.

·
Banned
1,926 Posts
I had SGC install a set of night sights on my 45 Tactical and they did a great job and only charged me $20. I would not hesitate to use them again!

·
Registered
392 Posts
I personally won't have anything to do with SGC.
Why? Statements like that always baffle me. If you are going to knock someone, at least have the decency to explain your opinion. Who knows, you might even influence people and help them out---but this kind of thing is just pointless.

·
Registered
366 Posts