HKPRO Forums banner

1 - 12 of 12 Posts

·
Registered
70 Posts
Discussion Starter #1 (Edited)
Recently started working on a concept for a simple tri-rail bracket in my free time. Only issue is I am working overseas and do not have access to my SL8/G36 to take accurate measurements. I have the 3D model I am working with scaled to fairly accurate dimensions based general specifications I looked up on H&Ks website.The concept is 80% complete. Check out the photos. I am not an engineer and I am new here but I thought I'd share this and see what input, opinions, or help I can get from the more knowledgeable members.

I haven't been able to decide the best way to go about this, but I have it narrowed down to 3 possibilities:

1. one piece machined aluminum system with rails that bolts up via the existing 4 mounting points on either side of the handguard.
2. a bracket with only the top rail machined into it as one piece that bolts up behind existing aftermarket side rails.
3. The bracket alone that would utilize existing removeable rail sections.

Any insightful recommendations regarding dimensions, materials, configuration, 3d or CAD drafting, rapid prototyping experiences, etc.

(Model of G36K not created by me)

Thanks for any interest or input.

Attachments

·
Registered
276 Posts
I admire your effort, but why make this?
I wonder if there is a demand for this.

of your 3 options, the second one sounds the best. A simple way to get a top rail and a secure way of mounting it to the existing rail options.

·
Registered
70 Posts
Discussion Starter #3
Thanks for the reply.

To clarify, I am not designing the part to make a profit. I was just looking at the aftermarket options out there (B&T, Knights, etc.) and they are all costly for the capability you gain beyond HKs factory configuration. Specifically, a rail inline with and over the bore.