HKPRO Forums banner

1 - 20 of 20 Posts

·
Registered
17 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I've been shooting IDPA matches for about 9 years or so. I've shot it with the Glock 19, Browning Hi Power, FNP 9 and last Friday was the first time shooting it with my new USPc. It worked out really well, the nice ergo's makes it easy to shoot fast and accuratly. I think I still like the Hi Power the best for the matches (long sight radius and the it's point ability) however, as a rule I alway shoot matches with my current carry gun, so the HK it is.

Still waiting for my score to be emailed, but I think I did pretty well (usually top 8 out of 30 or so shooters) My son was shooting matches with me, but he's working as a fire fighter now and has little time. My oldest daughter has started shooting it with me. The joke is, her first time out she beat 9 guys.

I alway find it funny that usually the only guns that have problems out there are 1911's. By the smell of the powder I know that most of these failures are from reloads. What do you make of that?

·
Registered
263 Posts
That's great that you get your kids out there with you.

·
Registered
17 Posts
Discussion Starter #4
I'm in Central California and we have a local match in my city. Starting next month my daughter and I will probably start traveling and attending at least on other monthly match.

Other matches that I know about within driving distance of my City:
San Luis obispo
Winton
Fresno
Taft
San Francisco
sometimes Bakersfield

I am surprised by two things: 1) My son is not so excited to shoot IDPA with me anymore 2) My daughter is excited to shoot IDPA matches with me.
I'm just really glad to have someone to play with

·
Premium Member
1,737 Posts
. By the smell of the powder I know that most of these failures are from reloads. What do you make of that?
You've got a good nose. And the 1911 guy has spent all his money on parts and gunsmithing, and is now forced to reload to afford to shoot.

·
Registered
132 Posts