HKPRO Forums banner

1 - 18 of 18 Posts

·
Registered
11 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
OK, I know this is probably a dead horse, but I've seen some 416 uppers going for 39-52k on some sites, are these legal for sale? Also given these prices, if they are going to be imported in mass would it be wise to wait and hope prices fall?

·
Registered
23 Posts
$3000-5000 is a more accurate price for an actual H&K HK-416 upper assembly. Don't expect prices to drop anytime soon.

H&K has officially stated that they will not sell the HK-416 to the civilian market.

Due to H&K stance, the selling/buying of H&K HK-416 uppers is a gray area.
If they are coming from a legitimate source, they appear to be legal. If they come from a illegitimate source, they appear to be illegal.

·
Premium Member
420 Posts
If they were obtained legally there should be no problem

I am no expert, and I am sure others here will correct me where I err. From what I understand the 416 uppers can not be imported directly for civilian sale due to the US import barrel ban. Therefore Hk will not be able to sell them to civilians even if they wanted to. The uppers you are seeing for sale are uppers that were removed from a Class3 dealer sample. Basically (for our hypothetical purposes) some Class3 dealer obtains a legit letter from a police department requesting a demonstation of Hks new wonder gun; this letter and some other BATF paperwork permit the dealer to obtain the 416 as a complete weapon for said demonstration. The dealer performs his law enforcement demonstartion and then destroys the lower per BATF. Then he sells off the lightly used parts at a tremendous profit. There is nothing illegal about this from the standpoint that you (as hypothetical buyer) are doing nothing more than buying a parts kit.

Correct me if I am wrong? The prices are high because that is apparently what the market will tolerate. Personally I would rather have a Hk91 & 93 for the cost of one upper, but to each their own.

·