HKPRO Forums banner

1 - 19 of 19 Posts

·
Registered
11 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hello folks, new to Hk. I been shooting 1911's. My question is , what is the difference in recoil in the 40 or 45 fullsize?? I thinking of getting one or the other, and want something my son (12) can shoot also. I have the USP 9mm compact, now we are hooked. Any help will be appreciated.

Bubby

·
Registered
5,341 Posts
Get another 9mm, the .40 is significantly more 'flippy', I prefer the .45 over the .40, but seeing as his age is 12? I started shooting the Colt 1911 at 12. (Grew up on a farm)

The full size .45 is a large pistol in the grip, but its a very soft shooter, the USP Compact .45 is smaller in the grip, and a softer shooter than the .40. If he can handle .45 - the USP Compact .45 may be a very good fit if he has big hands - if not, may be the 9mm would work better than the .40?

I love the .40sw, its really not a round for beginners - where as the .45 in the right platform is easier to learn on.

·
Registered
3,970 Posts
Hello folks, new to Hk. I been shooting 1911's. My question is , what is the difference in recoil in the 40 or 45 fullsize?? I thinking of getting one or the other, and want something my son (12) can shoot also. I have the USP 9mm compact, now we are hooked. Any help will be appreciated.

Bubby
The fullsize USP 45 will be noticeably softer-shooting than the fullsize USP 40. The average chamber pressure of the 40 S&W cartridge is somewhere on the order of about 33,000 psi, while the 45 ACP is typically at around 20,000 or even less. That much being said however, I think your son would be fine with either since the fullsize USPs have more slide mass (heavier), and the more elaborate dual-spring recoil system as compared with the USP Compact 9mm he is already shooting. In my opinion, the fullsize USP 45 is the nicest shooting HK pistol of the three you mentioned (the fullsize USP 40, the compact USP 9mm, and the fullsize USP 45). :)

·
Registered
173 Posts