HKPRO Forums banner

1 - 20 of 22 Posts

·
Registered
549 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Wanted to share a cool moment with you guys. Maybe some of u guys have kids or grand kids and can relate. Had the P30L out this evening (safety checked, no ammo in sight) just handling and admiring it. My 11 year old son came in and wanted to know a little more about it. I am by no means an expert, but we spent a half hour going over all the parts and what they did. From explaining the stamps and markings to reviewing the extractor/ejector. Hilarious moment when my son looked at me and pointed to the massive ejector and said, "Isn't that the piece in your old Glock that kept shooting the brass in your face?" I laughed out loud. Looking at the HK in such detail really reaffirmed my decision to go with HK. Such outstanding craftsmanship and over engineering. Now he asked what those roll pins were on the slide and I told him that's where the firing pin is contained. He wanted to take it apart but I am nowhere near brave enough to start a slide disassembly on the HK yet. Of course all this just makes me want to buy another HK, but I think I am raising an HK fan as well- which I am very happy about.

·
Registered
3,677 Posts
Those are golden moments. Your boy will likely remember that the rest of his life and may even do it for his children. There is no telling how far a good influence can advance a youngster. Nice that HK could be a part of that.

·
Registered
275 Posts
Coming from an engineering background specifically motorsports, and seeing the precision that HK's are made with basically makes them the formula 1 of guns

·
Merchant of Death (Admin)
11,803 Posts
Bravo! And don't be wary of doing a complete strip of that slide. It's really not so intimidating. Just go slowly and make sure that the cat is locked up so that all the small parts stay in one place...

·
Registered
114 Posts