HKPRO Forums banner

1 - 8 of 8 Posts

·
Registered
402 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Been looking into buying a PTR 91 or a HK 91. I'm a complete noob to Hks rifles so bear with me. I want a .308 caliber semi auto rifle of some sort with good accuracy. Preferably sub M.O.A.. I would top it off with a Nightforce or Leupold MK 4. My questions are:
1. Will a Psg1 trigger group and stock fit on a Ptr?
1a. Is it even worth it on a clone if it does?
2. If I went with a Hk 91 does all that stuff easily swap out for psg1 parts (trigger group and adj. stock).
2a. Again is it worth it I'm not aware if the SR9 has the same barrel etc.
3.Am I just better of paying a real SR9 or SR9 (TC)?
4.Heard the recoil is pretty stout on 91's, I shoot M1 Garands and FN Fals alot is it worse then these? If so do I just need a buffer.
5. I have done alot of high power competition shooting (M1a's,M1Garands,Mouseguns) etc. Are any of HKs G3 type guns other than Psg1 capable of sub moa accuracy out to say 500 yards?

Thanks for helping this noob out!

·
Registered
422 Posts
Have you considered taking your stock trigger and having Bill Springfield share a little love on it?

Dollar for dollar, this is the BEST upgrade you can do to a tigger.

PSG triggers are the very good but are very costly.

As far as barrels, I think Urbach may still sell after market PSG barrels.

On a side note, every long range competition I have been to, I do not see alot of G3's shooting.
I have always felt the best enjoyment is shooting a G3 at man sized targets at 100-300 yeards using a red dot scope or even iron sites. Aim and shoot away like it was meant to do.

Sorry for not answering your questions.

·
Registered
402 Posts
Discussion Starter #3
No problem thats the kind of response I was looking for. I know what you are saying I would be lying if I said I have ever seen a ptr or 91 etc at a gun range let alone a match. I wasn't going to shoot it as a match rifle just wondered if it could hold that kind of accuracy.