HKPRO Forums banner

1 - 20 of 20 Posts

·
Registered
61 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I'm pretty new to the world of HK. I purchased a P2000 V3 late last year and just put a USPc V1 on layaway. I've been reading about and trying to learn everything I can about these pistols, and others in the HK lineup. What I'm trying to find out is if there are any differences between the two insofar as manufacturing is concerned.

Specifically, I know the USP is built with a fibreglass reinforced frame and has Dow Corning Molykote treated internals for increased corrosion resistance. Are these something that HK has carried over to the P 2000 and other pistols in their lineup?

·
Registered
65 Posts
220, 221 - whatever it takes.....

I am not sure, but looking up Dow Corning Molykote, it sounds like that is just a lubricant. I know they typically refer to the P2000 as a polymer frame. I have never heard of any fiberglass being used.

·
Registered
61 Posts
Discussion Starter #4
From what I've read, the USP uses a glass fiber reinforced polymer frame. I take that to be just another way of saying fibreglass.

·
Registered
247 Posts
I would imagine they use the same process for the p2000. The p2k was originally contracted to the border patrol and is still being used by them now if that tells you anything.

·
Registered
65 Posts
The below is a quote from the P2000 user manual posted on the HK site. It states that the P2000 uses the same material as the Mark 23. On the Mark 23 web page it states that it uses a "Corrosion proof fiber-reinforced polymer frame". So it would appear that all the HKs leverage the same polymer formulation process.

"The polymer frame of the P Series pistol was designed using technical experience gained
by HK engineers in the development of the world's first composite material pistols, the HK
VP70Z and P9S (polymer outer frame/steel internal frame), and more recently, in the USP