HKPRO Forums banner

1 - 20 of 46 Posts

·
Registered
119 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
When releasing the cocking handle what is the proper way to do it. I understand either way works, but how do the swat team guys and "professionals" do it ?

It seems like it would be easier on the cocking handle to pull it back and down and then let it go so you're not rubbing the metal as much.

Thanks for answering a stupid question, I'm pretty new to the MP5 world.

·
Premium Member
1,892 Posts
Most guys smack the handle with the "meaty part" of the palm in a downward motion. I guess you could describe it as a bad 80's movie karate chop.

I myself am not a swat team member, but I did stay at a holiday inn express last night.

No really I swat guy taught me how to use his duty weapon (MP5N) and that is the method he taught me. YMMV

·
Registered
589 Posts
Slap it! There is no cooler move in the firearms world.

·
Merchant of Death (Admin)
11,954 Posts
It really has nothing to do with cool or the CDI (chicks dig it) factor. The "slap" allows the force of the spring to do it's work and properly charge the rifle; put it into a ready to fire mode. Babying it, riding it, or doing anything that might interfere with the full force of the charging process is not recommended because your gun might go click instead of bang.

·
Registered
119 Posts
Discussion Starter · #6 ·
Thanks, yea the cool factor is high I admit. A open bolt gun just plain sucks in that regard.

I guess what I meant to ask was, when HK designed the gun, is that the way they meant for it to be charged ?

·
Registered
303 Posts
The slap is what was taught at the HK ITD when it was around. The slap is what is taught by HKPRO himself at his MP5 operator's class. Use the slap. It works. If you are worried about wearing some of the finish on your MP5 then don't use it.

·
Merchant of Death (Admin)
11,954 Posts
Or to be more direct: yes, that's the way it's supposed to be done.

·
Registered
303 Posts

·