HKPRO Forums banner
1 - 20 of 81 Posts

·
Registered
60 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I went to the range today to test out some different ammo on my .40 cal USP.
Was using PMC 180 gr today.
Felt like I was shooting a 9mm with this ammo compared to the federals which are more like a .357 sig.....

The frame felt ok with this ammo, it felt iffy with the federals, some flex involved.

However today I started shooting the PMC and it was wildly innaccurate at nearly point blank warm up shots.
So much so that the employee who was walking by told me "YOU SUCK" LOL...
I told him the gun isn't shooting straight I think it's old.
He was like what 93? That's not old.... Then said can I try shooting it?
I said go ahead.
He took 1 shot and immediately changed his mind.
Said yup not going straight....

So I got a little frustrated and put a mag in and sprayed it. Since I couldn't aim with it anyways. Then the barrel heated up, and the next mags were shooting straighter.....
Thermal expansion is what was happening to the barrel and it was creating a better fit for the ammo...

So I know exactly what was going on but I'm wondering is my barrel worn out? Is this a symptom of something that is pretty bad?

I did a google search and found out snipers put mags in the sun to expand with heat and get better accuracy. Same concept but opposite parts heating.
So I'm wondering how bad is it?

·
Registered
60 Posts
Discussion Starter · #2 ·
Has anyone shot PMC and had this problem? My friend brought his brand new 1911 TRP and it behaved similarly with PMC ammo but nowhere near to the degree mine was. Only a tiny bit off when cold, like inches, and pretty good when warmed up shooting full distance at the range. My shots were like maybe 7-8 inches off target at 7 yards, his was maybe 1-2 inches off at 7 yards cold barrel.

·
Registered
60 Posts
Discussion Starter · #3 ·