HKPRO Forums banner

1 - 16 of 16 Posts

·
Premium Member
1,381 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hi guys,

First up - I hope this doesn't turn into a flame war. Not my intent at all. I know this stuff can get touchy, but I'm just trying to get a feel for whats out there.

My LGS has a Century HK93 that I've been flirting with. I'm new to the HK world, having just picked up a USC and SL8. Love 'em.

I've never owned a Century anything. My other long guns are a few M14/M1A variants, DSA FAL, and a few different types of Kalashnikov guns. I'm not afraid of putting top dollar into the "good stuff" (SAI and HK). But I'm not a 'fan boy' or 'gun snob', and I don't require immaculate fit and finish if the price is right. At the end of the day, I just want my guns to run well (hence, my AKs). In the AK world, Century seems to be hit or miss. Some guys swear that with a Century AK, and a bit of elbow grease, you're good to go. Might be true, as AK actions are pretty simple to work on. Others say to avoid them like the plague and get something else, for slightly more money. Fair enough - AKs are generally pretty inexpensive across the board.. but the price difference between a Century HK clone and a real HK is substantial.

In my looking around the forum here, it seems a lot of folks with Century HK clones end up sending them out to a smith to get worked over. Not a bad thing, and I'd certainly consider that as a way to go. Even with the extra work, you'd probably be into it for less money than a real HK, I'd imagine. But, still, it leaves me wondering if I wouldn't be better off money/investment wise just holding out for a real-deal HK. The re-sale value on a "tuned up Century" isn't going to be as nice as the resale on a HK branded gun. Just the facts, even if the Century ends up out-performing an HK that might need some work.