HKPRO Forums banner

1 - 15 of 15 Posts

·
Registered
7 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I recently picked up a new HK45 thanks to Mike at Cross Creek Guns, it was a variant 1 DA/SA. I also bought the HK45 LEM conversion kit from TopGunSupply and using the videos/instructions from other forum members managed to convert from DA/SA to LEM without too much trouble. It took me maybe a couple of hours to do the conversion, taking my time, as I am not an expert. The only real issue I had was the video at one stage mentions 'at this point don't pull back the hammer as you'll need to start over again', naturally the video mentions this after I had pulled back the hammer! For anyone looking to convert to LEM I would say it is fairly straight forward even for someone with limited experienced at doing more than just a field strip.

Variant 1 DA/SA HK45

And after the LEM conversion (notice external safety removed and different hammer). The Viridian X5L Gen 2 light/laser does not come as part of the LEM conversion :wink:

First Range Visit (and failure)

I usually field strip, clean and relube all new firearms I receive, however with the HK45 I just took it to the range straight out of the box (other than the LEM conversion). I had dry fired it a few times as both DA/SA and LEM to check that the basic function seemed to work. At the range I shot 20 Speer Gold Dot 185g HPs and 155 Federal Champion 230gr FMJ. I did notice that my forearms were covered in black particles, which I've not had with any of my other firearms which means either the Federal Champion I was using is very dirty or the factory lube was causing the particles.