HKPRO Forums banner

1 - 17 of 17 Posts

·
Registered
12 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hello Everyone,
I just recently bought my first HK product, a USP45c which I took to the range yesterday for for the first time. I shot about 200 rounds.

I first learned to shoot pistols with model 1911 .45s and was very used to single action triggers. Then for a few years my bedroom and outdoors gun was a Glock model 36 which I didn't shoot too much.

My question is... since I am a newbie with double/single action pistols like my HK what would be the best way to learn to shoot this new (to me) trigger style? Yesterday, I was firing one shot double, then one followup shot single action, decocking and then repeating. I had originally planned to carry this weapon cocked and locked, but would certainly like to be able to shoot it as it has been designed to shoot as well.

Could someone give me some advice on how to become a proficient double/single action shooter?

Many thanks,
BES

·
ΜΟΛΩΝ ΛΑΒ&
1,922 Posts
Sounds to me like you had the right idea. That is how I practice with my carry gun. However, especially being new to it try de-cocking after every round for awhile getting more used to the trigger. Then go back into what you were doing ie first shot, and then a quick follow up shot.

·
Registered
383 Posts
Best thing to do is just practice.

Load up a mag, de-cock, fire in DA mode, de-cock, repeat.

Then, load up a mag, de-cock, fire in DA mode, fire in SA mode, de-cock, repeat.

Then, load up a mag, de-cock, double-tap DA first shot SA second shot, repeat.

Snap caps are a good idea too to hone your DA pull.

All that being said, I think the idea behind the USP V1 is that it works for everyone. If you're used to DA/SA, leave the safety off and carry as is. If you're used to SA, you can carry cocked and locked and never use the DA pull.

·
Registered
260 Posts
USPs fire in DA?? :confused:

Couldn't prove it by me; I always carry in Condition One.