HKPRO Forums banner

1 - 20 of 21 Posts

·
Registered
31 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I noticed that the spring had changed its seating from straight to curved this evening while cleaning the gun after returning from the range. As I am still new to HK firearms, and the 1911's I've been shooting for years leave no room for play like this in the spring, Id rather know than create wear on something as important as the spring and its surrounding parts.

D

·
0 Posts
I don't know about you, but the three H&K's that I have... actually any gun that I own, don't do that after only 650 rounds... I'd call them up or maybe e-mail them with that picture as attachment and ask if it's normal.

·
Registered
1,023 Posts
Hmmm, my mark23's spring doesn't even look that warped... That usually happens when a spring is compressed and has wobble room, but i've never seen one that out of whack...

I dont think it would affect the reliability or service life, but i would show the pic to HK just in case!

·
Registered
1,023 Posts
Sure!

Heres HK-USA's contact info:

Heckler & Koch Inc
7661 Commerce Ln
Trussville, AL 35173
800-821-3021
205-655-7078 fax
[email protected] <--- Email

It may take a couple days for them to reply, so don't get too antsy if they dont reply in a day or two. :)

·
Registered
78 Posts
I am pretty sure the spring on my USPf 45 has some curvature similar to what is in your picture. I am not sure it is quite as warped as yours, but I don't think it is perfectly straight either. I think my G17 is also like that.

As the inner diameter of the spring is much greater than the outer diameter of the guide rod, I suspect that it flexs all over the place when shooting. In order to keep it perfectly straight and centered on the rod, there would have to be very little slop between the moving parts in the gun and I just don't think that combat weapons have tolerances that are that tight.