HKPRO Forums banner
1 - 20 of 27 Posts

·
Registered
126 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Does anyone care to post an opinion on whether you can ship a Century C93 223 caliber upper only to a california ffl and the remaining pieces to a buyers home? Supposedly you can avoid having the mag lock installed doing it this way and it would fall on the buyer to do this before reassembling the rifle.

Just looking for comments.

Thanks

·
Registered
132 Posts
Since you're asking for opinions, not certified facts, I'll speak up. I'm not a lawyer, and don't play one on TV.

The serialized portion needs to go to the FFL. That's the "firearm." With ARs, the lower reciever is sold bare, and the consumer can assemble the weapon around that, but the other pieces do not need to be purchased at the same time. There are some problems that can arise ("constructive intent" I believe it is called) if a citizen is in possession of pieces that can *only* be assembled in an illegal configuration, i.e. a short-barrel AR upper with no AR lower registered as a pistol is "obviously" intended to make an SBR.

I hope this helps but kind of doubt it considering my lack of bona fides in the legal realm.

·
Vendor
6,925 Posts
I don't do it. The upper on a hk clone is the firearm. it's better to install the Ca parts take some pics and send it has a whole rifle to the ffl.. you can also call CA DOJ to make sure Bro..
Does anyone care to post an opinion on whether you can ship a Century C93 223 caliber upper only to a california ffl and the remaining pieces to a buyers home? Supposedly you can avoid having the mag lock installed doing it this way and it would fall on the buyer to do this before reassembling the rifle.

Just looking for comments.

Thanks

·
Registered
108 Posts
I have purchased 3 hk clones in the exact way you described.
The one thing I do when I pick up the serialized receiver from my ffl is to purchase a rad lock from them on the pickup date.