HKPRO Forums banner
1 - 14 of 14 Posts

·
Registered
34 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I've had my sear for a few years and have experienced occasional light strikes in multiple calibers.

At first I changed out the hammer spring to a rifle caliber one but the problem continued. I then tried the HK parts burst hammer spring with no change in the amount of light strikes. I also tried an extra strength spring but it made the gun only cycle in semi-auto. In full auto or burst mode it would fail to feed every time after ejecting the empty case.

I read about re-timed hammers and thought maybe that could be the problem but everything is about SEF, not burst packs. I'm not sure if my hammer is timed properly but the ROF in my mp5k clone is ridiculous (ly awesome).

Anyone have any advice? Should I just throw the extra strength spring back in and fire a few thousand rounds in semi-auto to break it in and hope it will eventually cycle in full-auto, and that it hopefully reduces light strikes?

Firearm Gun Trigger Assault rifle Rifle

Attachments

·
Registered
243 Posts
I don't own an auto sear so this is just from information I've gained reading here. An auto sear will change the position your hammer sits when it's cocked. So, instead of being 20° from horizontal it's 30° (don't try to measure, I made up the numbers). So when it does fire you don't get a full stroke and that's what causes light primer strikes. A retimed hammer has a different notch cut into it so that it sits in the correct position when using a sear. I would think this is a problem for both SEF and burst packs. A picture of the cocked trigger pack might help someone who knows what they're looking at identify that problem.

·
Premium Member
1,531 Posts