HKPRO Forums banner

1 - 19 of 19 Posts

·
Registered
90 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hey everyone, complete newbie here.

I am going to be buying my first gun soon, and I initially decided on the p2000sk. I found this board and have been scouring relevant threads for some time now to make sure I did it right. I have shot before, but have never had any training and have never cleaned a gun. I feel like I have a million questions, hopefully I can clear some of them up here.

I have never even seen an HK in real life, but reading these forums has me wanting to build a collection already. Unfortunately I can only afford one at the moment and have started to waiver a bit from my initial choice. 99999 would have me buy a Glock to learn to shoot with, but I just can't get myself to do it. I am now considering a P30 and the sk in 9mm, LEM. I am hoping to be able to handle each in a store before buying online.

I need to learn how to clean it before I shoot it - I would appreciate it if I could get some recommendations on what I need to buy for that. There are some kits on Amazon I was going to decide between, but if some experienced shooters here can give any guidance on what would be a good kit or some necessary components I would appreciate it.

I picked up a Howard Leight L3 earmuff already, along with some cheap Radians adjustable glasses. I figured if I end up upgrading in that area those would be nice to own as backup or for a friend to use. I was also considering the Howard Leight electronic ones - any thoughts on those? Any of you guys just use earplugs? Any thoughts on quality shooting glasses, or are those just a personal comfort preference thing?

I also have picked some snap caps already - I want to play around with the trigger as soon as I get it. Also already purchased a Butler Creek pistol loader - will people look at me funny if I whip that out at the range?