HKPRO Forums banner

1 - 6 of 6 Posts

·
Registered
11 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I have a stainless new barrel for a MP5. It has a very small C stamped on it. I am guessing this is POF or SW. The lugs on this look very close if not a perfect match to a german barrel. I have a SW barrel on my SW5 now and the lugs don't match this at all. Does anyone know if this is a POF or a newer updated SW barrel? Thanks so much for the input.

·
Premium Member
8,625 Posts
Is that the ONLY markings on it? A small 'c'? The machine marks looks exactly like the (supposedly) paki barrels I have. But they each have 6 numbers on the barrel near the breech end in this format: xx-xx-xx

·
Registered
11 Posts
Discussion Starter · #3 ·
No markings whatsoever on the barrel. Infact the C looks like it could have been caused by a slight hit from a punch or something. The barrel has 12 flutes.

G

·
I'm no expert but a buddy of mine is a H&K Germany trained US Military armorer on the MP5 system. He looked at your photograph and he said that it looks like a new in the white Pakistani or Greek made MP5 barrel. The Paki barrels had a series of numbers rolled on the outside and the Greek barrels have a part number and 4 digit code?

He said that the Pakistani barrels are usually marked with a bore diameter code and date of manufacture code up to a certain year. He said that although they were pretty well made, some were not stress relieved and did not last long or kept their accuracy. He did say that outside of German and British made MP5 barrels, one of the better types was those made by Turkey or all people.

He also said that if you have an original German 3 lug MP5 flash hider or BFA, these devices will fit on any MILSPEC MP5 barrel, but will not fit on any clone or poorly made Paki barrel.

He also said that Pakistan, Saudi Arabia and a couple other countries bought the technology uprades for the new flute style (EDM) and newer rifling manufacturing.

I hope this is helpful.

·