HKPRO Forums banner

1 - 12 of 12 Posts

·
Registered
119 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hello, I'm pretty new to HK's and Class III guns although I've been shooting all my life.

I recently bought a registered receiver MP5, w/ a push pin lower. It was made pre-1986.

http://www.westernfirearms.com/wfc/hkmp5?set=48

Apparently this is somewhat of a rare setup. I did some searches here and it seems 90% or more of the people here have a sear gun or talk about a sear gun.

Now from what I understand a sear can be moved from gun to gun.

I would think a registered receiver gun would be preferred because most everything can be bought new and replaced (like from HKparts.net)

What is the difference between a push pin gun and a non push pin gun. Is one not able to replace the trigger pack at all or is it harder ??

·
Registered
303 Posts
You should post this in NFA talk.

·
Registered
8,294 Posts
From a purest standpoint, the order of desirability is:

1. Factory original gun (very, very few transferable HKs exist)

2. Converted push-pin (most closely resembles factory gun)

3. a) sear, b) clip-on

From the standpoint that these things cost an arm and a leg, the sear offers the greatest flexibility since it can be moved from gun to gun. The sear is the best way to go if you can only buy one machine gun. If you can afford to buy a half dozen or more machine guns, then the push-pin may be the way to go, and even the clip-on is an excellent value. If you can afford an original factory transferable, then I want to be your friend.

·
Premium Member
1,025 Posts
I purchased my MP5N from Western Firearms. Extreamly happy with what I received and the owner Nick is trustworthy.

He has many more MP5 models in his inventory so what you see is only what he has posted. Before all the guns were sold, the "clipped and pinned" models were selling for $19,500.