HKPRO Forums banner

1 - 6 of 6 Posts

·
Registered
64 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I am new to this platform, but I have 10 years of firearm experience. I am writing this as an opinion based on my experience with these specific magazines for the MP5/SP5 and possibly clones.

They were tested on a 2016 SP5K with US HK parts Magazine paddle conversion. All reloads were done with the bolt open as a proper MP5 reload.

The three mags tested are as follows:

ETS Group:

AC Unity:

KCI (Korean Mag) Gen3:

I would like to add a test and eval of the POF mag in the future.

First I would like to lay out the pre range testing. I did dry fire and reload drills of about 10 mag changes for each mag. During this I felt for fitment and issues inserting and removing the magazines. The results are as follows:

-ETS Group, first off the mag looks cool. Mine are "smoked" clear. When inserting into the firearm it felt snug, but almost like there was some rubbery friction if that makes any sense. Almost sticky. The plastic of the ETS mag seems almost tacky or uncured. Even though the mag is completely hard, when rubbing against the metal it feels as if though it is not. The mag locks up easily, out of most of the inserts I only had to slap the bottom of the mag a few times to fully seat it. To remove it got hung up a few times and required some extra force to pull it out of the mag well. Dropping it on the floor was of no consequence to the integrity of the magazine. This mag does not give you any indication that it has seated fully, no click and hardly any feel. It makes you want to slap the bottom of the mag to be sure, even though it is likely already inserted fully.