HKPRO Forums banner

1 - 16 of 16 Posts

·
Registered
1,450 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I have an opportunity to by a long bed ultrasonic cleaner from a dental office for next to nothing. It works perfectly and has heat (I know because my wife is the hygienist there). The basket is 19"x6"x6". Does anyone have experience using one to clean their MP5 or suppressors? Since the barrelled action of my MP5-N is 17" it will fit in this unit. I would love field strip the entire gun and throw it in the tank for cleaning. However some thoughts come to mind... Finish safety?, proper solution?, post cleaning oiling?, do these things really work?
I have NO experience with ultrasonic cleaning of firearms, so by all means educate me. Your valuable thoughts, experiences, or advice on how you do it (if at all) would be greatly be appreciated. Thanks in advance!

·
Registered
7 Posts
It will remove the painted finish over time. It is a good solution for the internals and trigger pack. Re-lubing after cleaning to protect it from corrosion and for lubrication would be needed. Simple Green Extreme is usable as an envirosafe solvent in ultrasonics. Ultrasonics clean hardened deposits better than softer deposits. Put the dirtiest parts in a ziplock bag with solution to keep the solution in the tank cleaner longer. The ultrasonic vibrations will clean through the bag.

·
Merchant of Death (Admin)
11,757 Posts
I like to make sure that the neighbor's Lhaso Apso is out and about when I run my ultrasonic. But I'm just mean. The ziploc bag trick is a really GOOD tip!

·
Registered
10,251 Posts

·
Merchant of Death (Admin)
11,757 Posts
sorry about that Shattered. Never pictured you as the elephant tampon kinda guy...

·
Registered
482 Posts
Cute dog Shattered. We have three yorkshire terriers,two are rescues and they own us as well. The puppy looks happy to " Go for a ride in the truck?".

·
Registered
3,468 Posts