HKPRO Forums banner
1 - 6 of 6 Posts

·
Registered
12 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I have been all over this board today trying to search for these answers, though some come close, I couldn't find what I need. So, now I will ask. I know there are members here that make a living from building these guns and like to keep secrets close to the vest. I get that. Buy with out being specific, please point me in the right direction. I have been a welder and fabricator for a caterpillar dealer for 25 years. So maybe I can just tell you all how I would do it and you say yes or no.
It seems to me that the way to install the Mp5k trunnion is to push it all the way into the receiver until it is flush against the rails and properly rotated so that is is even on both rails. Then tack it here. There are photos I have seen on the forum that show one improperly installed, so it seems to me if the trunnion is up tight against the end of the rails and rotated so it even above the rails on both sides, then we are good.
Next,
When installing the Mp5k cocling tube, it seems to me that the best way, is to; trim metal from the top front of receiver and keep trial fitting the tube until your cocking tube support has that 1/16-1/8 gap between it and the bolt carrier with the hammer down and the support all the way forward and in its detent. I have heard people say just cut and inch out of the front of the receiver over the trunnion, or set cocling tube back until it's rear edge is flush against the rear edge of the trunnion. But to me, it seems to keep trial fitting it to get your gap between carrier and support would be precise.
Let me know if what I'm saying is how you professionals would do it.

·
Registered
12 Posts
Discussion Starter · #2 ·