HKPRO Forums banner
1 - 6 of 6 Posts

·
Premium Member
4,027 Posts
a semi-auto MP5k (without shoulder stock) with no front grip is a SP89. Just a great big pistol legally speaking.... however, once you ad a front grip, it falls into AOW (all other weapons, I think?) territory and requires a stamp. If you add a shoulder stock, it is then a SBR (short barrel rifle), and likewise requires a stamp.... I could go on and on, but really if you're interested in NFA stuff you need to research it. I am by no means a lawyer or an expert... what i've outlined loosly explains/describes some of the configurations an SP89 could be altered to... thats all

now, the item you have linked is the handguard/forend for the SP89, it does not have a front grip, rather a small lip to "prevent" you hand from going forward on the forend while firing... the item you have linked is legal to put on an SP89... All of this is of course if you don't live in a State that has stricter firearms laws than the federal gov.... ie. Kalifornia, New Jersey, Illinois, just to name a few....

when dealing with NFA (non-sporting firearms) you need to be very carefull, and make sure what you are doing is first Federally legal, and then double check to make sure it is legal in your particular State...

good luck.

·
Registered
2,783 Posts