HKPRO Forums banner

1 - 14 of 14 Posts

·
Registered
2,621 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I realize there are several people who have chopped down their mr556's but have any of you had to have Gas port work to keep the gun 100% reliable? I've been told that when some some of the scar guys did that, they were having function issues.

It's going to be run very hard.

·
Registered
2,621 Posts
Discussion Starter #3
Had you done it or read anyone has that did not have issues? I realize the scar is different but an 1.5" did make a difference with that platform.

·
Banned
4,248 Posts
I have little first hand experience with the mechanics of the SCAR platform, so I can't help you out with that.

I can tell you that the position of the gas port is in the same position on all 416/MR 5.56 variants. And possibly with the exception of the 10.4" (if that) the gas ports should be the same size as well. Given that the 14.5" 416 functions reliably, why should an MR556 with essentially the same mechanical specifications not run? It would be more likely to have to modify the gas block if anything.

Keep in mind that the 416 system does not have the same issues with peak pressure and dwell time as its gas operated counterparts. Again, not knowing the SCAR platform intimately, I can not comment to the alleged issues you allude to.

·
Banned
879 Posts
I test fired my MR556 after cutting the barrel to 14.5 and the ejection pattern shifted slightly to the rear(about 4 o'clock), but remained well within acceptable standards.

·
Registered
518 Posts
I don't believe there are any differences in the gas ports between 416 barrel lengths.

The actual gas block is the part specific for barrel length...and I don't think the 14.5" gas-block is choked-off anymore than the 16" gas block.

I think there are a few members here that have had IGF cut their barrels to 14.5" without issue. You could ask them, or contact Jayson at IGF.

·
Registered
3,464 Posts