HKPRO Forums banner

1 - 12 of 12 Posts

·
Registered
31 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
As this MR556A1 is my first HK and AR, I have no experience to draw from so, I was wondering if it was advisable to use steel cased Wolf or Russian ammo in this gun? It would be used primarily for paper punching out to 200 yards. As you probably already know the cost is about roughly 1/2 that of brass cased ammo. Is there a better quality option I should be looking at for a similar steel cased price? Thanks, and as always, you're comments are welcome and appreciated.

Ray

·
Premium Member
1,737 Posts
I was wondering if it was advisable to use steel cased Wolf or Russian ammo in this gun?
No.

Is there a better quality option I should be looking at for a similar steel cased price?
No. Quality ammo, is not cheap ammo.

If you didn't care about accuracy, reliability, or quality then you've bought the wrong rifle. If you do care, that you have bought one of the best AR pattern rifles on the market, then get some good quality ammo, and feed her right!

·
Banned
4,248 Posts
You can if you want to, but there are 2 basic schools of thought on the subject:

1) It's a high-price/high-quality system that should be able to handle any ammo you put in it; so why not get more rounds per dollar if your gun can handle it?

2) It's an expensive, high-performance rifle, so why feed it garbage ammo and have accuracy suffer and risk excess wear from steel cased ammo?

It's hard to argue how much harder steel cases are on internals vs. brass cases. My advice is to find the balance in all of this. Find the best ammo you can reasonably afford in large quantities; if you have an MR556, you SHOULD be able to afford better than steel-cased Russian ammo. In the end, it's your rifle...do as you wish.

·
Registered
3,673 Posts