HKPRO Forums banner

1 - 13 of 13 Posts

·
Registered
88 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Well I finally did it...I have been sitting on the parts for almost a month. I just didn't have the time to commit to doing it properly until today. All in all, I spent about 4 hours on it, although it easily could have been done much quicker. I decided to take my time on the finishing and just enjoy the project. Everything I read on here about the difficulty of those pesky springs in the lower was extremely accurate LOL. I used a dremel on the mag cutout and had no problem, I just took it very slow--probably only 1/100 of an inch taken off each pass. I function checked it and everything works :) I am gonna try my best to get it to the range tomorrow.

If you have been thinking about doing this one--GET ON IT!!! I'm far from a mechanical genius and it wasn't that hard

·
Registered
88 Posts
Discussion Starter #2
I figured I might as well show a few "in progress" pics too:

lower parts

stock block fitting

mag well enlarging

the before shot...with my other .45 (Kimber)

·
Registered
18,641 Posts
Looks nice. I like your USC carbine because it has all blacked out lettering on the upper. More recent date coded USC carbines have white lettering.

·
Registered
18,641 Posts
Here's what mine looks like. Lacquer Stik doesn't work because the lettering is too shallow.

Are you going to mill the vents eventually?

·
Registered
88 Posts
Discussion Starter #7
yeah, definitely gonna go for the vents...just deciding who to outsource that job to, as i don't think I can do it perfectly

·
Registered
215 Posts
Your UMP conversion looks awesome! It is on my "to do" list! Out of curiosity, how much of the barrel is exposed? I would want to add a faux suppressor, but I'm guessing it would be at least 9" long?

·
Registered
88 Posts
Discussion Starter #10